Home | ALMS | Five things to look as the 2010 season cranks up again-Utah GP

Five things to look as the 2010 season cranks up again-Utah GP

Planning to keep up with the Larry H. Miller Dealerships Utah Grand Prix next week? GREAT! To get you ready for the fourth round of the American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patrón, here are some fun facts you can use to impress your friends!




1. Eleven drivers entered for this year’s race have competed in all four prior Utah GP rounds: Jörg Bergmeister, David Brabham, Chris Dyson, Clint Field, Wolf Henzler, Butch Leitzinger, Jaime Melo, Tom Milner, Seth Neiman, Guy Smith and Johannes van Overbeek.

Of those Bergmeister, Henzler and Melo each have at least one Series victory to their credit at Miller Motorsports Park.

Other previous Utah GP race-winners entered for this weekend include Olivier Beretta, Luis Diaz, Oliver Gavin, Patrick Long, Jan Magnussen, Johnny O’Connell and Simon Pagenaud.

2. Of the 10 former race-winners entered, only Jörg Bergmeister has multiple wins – 2008 and 2009 in GT2 for Porsche and Flying Lizard Motorsports.

3. Risi Competizione came from ninth on the GT2 grid to win in class during the Series’ first race at the venue in 2006. Jaime Melo, who drove with Mika Salo that season, will drive this year with Gimmi Bruni in one of the team’s two Ferrari F430 GTs that will run on E85 for the first time.

The subsequent three GT2 winners have come from pole position.

4. Porsche and Ferrari both have two GT2 victories in Utah. Ferrari won in 2006 and 2007 while Porsche triumphed in 2008 and 2009. This year they are joined in GT by Corvette (GT1 winner in 2007 and 2008), BMW, Ford and Jaguar, which is making its debut at the circuit.



5. All four Miller Motorsports Park races have featured multiple lead-lap finishers; three races have been won from the overall pole, one from second overall.

The American Le Mans Series presented by Tequila Patrón field is ready to kick off the summer stint with the Larry H. Miller Dealerships Utah Grand Prix at Miller Motorsports Park. The two-hour, 45-minute race will begin at 2:35 p.m. MT on Sunday, July 11, with coverage beginning on SPEED at 4:30 p.m. ET. Live radio coverage will be available on American Le Mans Radio presented by Porsche – a production of Radio Show Limited – as well as Sirius Channel 127 and XM Channel 242. Visit the Series’ schedule page for ticket and accommodation information. Live Timing and Scoring, track schedule, entry list and much, much more will be available on Racehub at americanlemans.com.