Home | Events-Shows | Challenging Qualifying Result for FAZZT at Edmonton Indy

Challenging Qualifying Result for FAZZT at Edmonton Indy

Edmonton, Alberta, Canada (July 24, 2010) – It turned out to be difficult day at the Honda Indy Edmonton for the FAZZT Race Team driver Alex Tagliani who qualified 10th in his group session and will start the race from a 19th starting position on the grid in Sunday’s race on home soil. The team has been working to find a set up that would work on the bumpy 3.154 -kilometer temporary airport circuit but wasn’t able to improve past their competitive group session after posting a time 1 minute 02.6257 seconds for an average speed of 182.6605 km/h aboard the no.77 Bowers & Wilkins Hot Wheels machine.




No 77 Bowers & Wilkins Hot Wheels FAZZT Race Team Dallara/Honda/Firestone


3rd IRL sanctioned Honda Indy Edmonton – 95 laps/ 299.659 kilometers

6th Indy Edmonton since its launch in 2005 (with Champ Car)


Edmonton City Center Airport circuit, Alberta – 3.154 km temporary street course

Event Dates:   

Race on Sunday July 25 at 5:55 p.m. ET, live on TSN & VERSUS starting at 5:00 p.m.

Live Timing & Scoring and Video is available at www.indycar.com


11 of 17

Will Power Wins his sixth pole of the season in Edmonton



TAGLIANI BEST TIME & SPEED: 62.5240 seconds – Average speed of 182.823 km/h


1st Will Power, Team Penske; 60.7126 seconds (188.991 km/h)

2nd Ryan Briscoe, Team Penske; 60.7890 seconds (188.040 km/h)

“It wasn’t so much that the group one draw was so competitive it’s that we just weren’t competitive like we should be. It’s no secret that we’ve been struggling to find a set up all weekend. We’re a bit lost at the moment with a car that has a lot of understeer, is very nervous with some push. I just feels really unstable and just doesn’t have any bit even with the Firestone red tires on. The way the car feels on the track, I would have been very surprised if we had made it out of our group to battle for the Firestone Fast 6. We’re not going to give up. The Fazzt guys will keep working to find something to make the no.77 Bower & Wilkins Hot Wheels car better and we’ll also try to be creative with our strategy for the race. Until that checkered flag drops we’re going to fight.”

Team Penske paced the Firestone Fast 6 qualifying with Will Power earning his sixth pole of the 2010 IZOD IndyCar season with a time of 1 minute 0.7126 seconds Helio Castroneves will start next to his Penske teammate after qualifying with a time of 1 minute 0.7890 seconds (188.04058 km/hr). Target Chip Ganassi teammates Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti will make up the second row on the grid for the start of the Honda Indy Edmonton while Penske’s third driver Ryan Briscoe and KV Racing Technology driver E.J.Viso round out the Firestone Fast Six group. Fellow Canadian Paul Tracy make his start in his KV Racing machine in 15th place.

Round 11 of the 2010 IZOD IndyCar schedule is an 95-lap, 299.659-kilometer event that will be broadcasted live this Sunday July 25 on TSN and VERSUS starting at 5:00 p.m. E.T. Live Timing and Scoring as well as video coverage of all practice sessions, qualifying, and the race are available at www.indycar.com.

Previous Winners in Edmonton

Defending Edmonton pole and race winner Will Power returns to the site of his first IZOD IndyCar Series win as the series point leader on the strength of four wins in six road/street course starts. Scott Dixon won the inaugural race in 2008 en route to the IZOD IndyCar Series title. The one former Edmonton winner under Champ Car/CART sanctioning is Justin Wilson (2006). The only driver entered who won a pole at Edmonton under Champ Car/CART sanctioning is Will Power (2007). Six drivers entered in the event will make their first starts on the Edmonton circuit; Bertrand Baguette, Simona De Silvestro, Milka Duno, Alex Lloyd, Mario Romancini and Takuma Sato

July 25, 2010 Schedule

– Sunday Warm-Up: 12:00 – 12:30 p.m. ET

– Sunday Race: 95 laps for 299.659-km with the green flag at 5:55 p.m. ET