Home | CTCC | Wittmer Wins Race One at the Grand Prix de Mirabel

Wittmer Wins Race One at the Grand Prix de Mirabel

(Mirabel, QC – July 3, 2010) – Temperatures in the low 30s provided a challenge for car and driver alike in race one at the Grand Prix de Mirabel. Drivers practiced and qualified earlier in the day in more comfortable conditions but needed to dig deep to survive the high heat of the afternoon.

Starting from the second row, Nick Wittmer, the Lombardi Racing Honda driver spent the first half of the race behind polesitter Sasha Anis and Gregory Pootmans. They along with Mathieu Audette charged hard until Anis dropped out of the race and Audette slowed with an oil heating problem. By the time the chequered flag fell, Wittmer was clear of second-place Pootmans by 3.822 seconds.

The Donington Motorsports Subaru Sti of Dave Ciekiewicz moved up six positions to finish third in Super Touring.

The fastest lap of the race (1:32.281) was turned in by Mathieu Audette in his Acura RSX.

In the Touring class, Anthony Rapone won from pole position in his Honda from Durabond/Compass360 Racing. His teammate, Karl Thomson in another Honda was second followed by Michel Sallenbach in the Octane Motorsports Mini.

The action at ICAR continues on Sunday, beginning with a final 30-minute warm-up session at 8:30 a.m. followed by the 30-minute feature race, scheduled to run at 2pm.

Follow all the action from Mirabel, including session reports, live timing and scoring and the latest championship news at www.touringcar.ca.

The Castrol Canadian Touring Car Championship Presented By Toyo Tires is Canada’s Premiere Touring Car Series and features Canada’s Best Drivers Racing Today’s Hottest Touring Cars. The Championship is showcased at seven event weekends in Quebec and Ontario with marquee events at Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres and Honda Indy Toronto.