Home | Formula 1 | Jenson Button wins the Australian GP

Jenson Button wins the Australian GP

Jenson Button, Robert Kubica and Felipe Massa on the podium at Melbourne

Rain was a major factor in Melbourne and all the drivers started the race on intermediates, but not all survived the first round.

For Button, it is the first victory since the Turkish GP in June 2009 and he was the first driver to change from intermediate to slicks.

Robert Kubica managed to jump Massa in the pits and came out ahead of Button, but it was his first lap on slicks and could not hold him off.

For Felipe Massa, his best finish in Australia was six but with a fantastic start he managed to score another 15 points making him second in the Championship after Fernando Alonso.