Home | Events-Shows | Szoke Takes Win Despite Cracked Radiator

Szoke Takes Win Despite Cracked Radiator

Polesitter Jordan Szoke of Brantford took the checkered flag in both the Parts Canada Superbike Feature Race and the Pro Sport Bike race, keeping his season’s undefeated streak intact.  The four-time defending Superbike champion has now won all eight races that he has competed in 2010.



The 31-year-old fell to fourth position while trying to gauge the impact of a slight radiator crack that occurred during warm-up.  His Honda showed no signs of overheating and Szoke showed to that he is a man on a mission to win his record breaking seventh series crown, taking back the lead spot and never relinquishing it. The win also gives him a 64 point advantage in the points standings.


Frank Trombino of Kleinburg, ON, finished third but was disqualified after not having enough fuel to complete a Dyno post-race test.  Francis Martin of Sherbrooke, QC, who came into the Parts Canada Superbike Doubleheader Weekend sitting second in points, moved from third place to second.  Kars, ON, native Andrew Nelson moved into third place, giving BMW Motorrad two bikes in the top-three.

Jodi Christie of Keene, ON, has been giving Szoke fits throughout the season in the Pro Sport Bike class, each time finishing a close second to Szoke.  Round four saw the defending champion take the lead from the pole and pull away from the field.  The two once again finished one-two; this time Szoke won the race in dominating fashion, putting over eight seconds between himself and his title challenger.

Results of Saturday’s fourth round of the Parts Canada Superbike Championship at Mosport International Raceway showing finishing position, rider name, hometown, type of motorcycle in brackets and laps completed:

1. Jordan Szoke, Brantford, ON (Honda CBR1000RR) 20 laps
2. Francis Martin, Sherbrooke, QC (BMW S1000RR) 20
3. Andrew Nelson, Kars, ON (BMW S1000RR) 20
4. Matthew McBride, Mississauga, ON (BMW S1000RR) 20
5. Chris Murray-Audain, Scarborough, ON (Kawasaki ZX-10R) 20
6. Jodi Christie, Keene, ON (Honda CBR600RR) 20
7. Cody Matechuk, Cochrane, AB (Suzuki GSX-R600) 20
8. Scott Rupert, Gadshill, ON (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 19
9. David Young, Woodstock, ON (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 19
10. Franklyn Dominguez, Montreal, QC (Kawasaki ZX-10R) 19
11. Dave Stokowski, Calgary, AB (Kawasaki ZX-10R) 19
12. Terry Steeves, Dartmouth, NS (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 19
13. Dean Plater, Ottawa, ON (Kawasaki ZX-10R) 19
14. Steve Walker, Carleton Place, Ont. (BMW S1000RR), 18
Did Not Finish
Kenny Riedmann, Belfountain, ON (Triumph Daytona 675) 16
Greg White, Raleigh, NC (Kawasaki ZX-6R) 11
Adam Roberts, Milford, NS (Kawasaki ZX-6R) 11
Michael Ferreira, Mississauga, ON (BMW S1000RR) 9
Alex Welsh, Uxbridge, ON (Kawasaki ZX-10R) 7
Sean Huffman, Kemptville, ON (Suzuki GSX-R1000) 2
Did Not Start
Marie-Josee Boucher, Montreal, QC (Honda CBR1000RR)
Dan Henri, Ottawa, ON (BMW S1000RR)
Andrew Dunlap, Truro, NS (Kawasaki ZX-10R)
Martin Ricard, Montreal, QC (Kawasaki ZX-10R)
Stephane Chabot, Oshawa, ON (Yamaha YZF-R6)
Elie Daccache, Ottawa, ON (Kawasaki ZX-6R)
Matthew Leahey, Halifax, NS (Honda CBR600RR)
Jean-Francois Cyr, Ste-Adele, QC (Suzuki GSX-R600)
Frank Trombino, Kleinburg, ON (Honda CBR1000RR)

Time of Race: 27:14.008 (174.359 km/h)
Margin of Victory: 3.371 secs.
Fastest Lap: 1:21.375 by Jordan Szoke on lap 18
Lap Leaders: Frank Trombino 1, Francis Martin 2-4, Jordan Szoke 5-20

Parts Canada Superbike Championship point standings after four of seven rounds, showing position, rider name and point total:

1.Jordan Szoke, 216
2. Francis Martin, 152
3. Andrew Nelson, 125
4. Cody Matechuk, 115
5. Jodi Christie, 110
6. Mike Ferreira, 83
7. Kevin Lacombe, 82
8. Alex Welsh, 79
9. Dave Stokowski, 59
10. Franklyn Dominguez, 53
11. Scott Rupert, 52
12. Steve Crevier, 46
13. Matt McBride, 32
13. Frank Trombino, 32
15. Chris Murray-Audain, 29
16. Justin Knapik, 27
17. Mike Zottmann, 21
17. Dave Young, 21
19. Jean-Francois Cyr, 19
20. Kenny Riedmann, 17
21. Marie-Josee Boucher, 15
21. Terry Steeves, 15
23. Peter Meier, 13
23. Ross Millson, 13
23. Greg White, 13
23. Dean Plater, 13
27. Steve Walker, 12

The Parts Canada Superbike Doubleheader Weekend concludes on Sunday practice sessions for six of the classes in the morning.  The first ever electric motorcycle race, the TTXGP eGrand Prix will run at 12 pm.  Pro Sport Bike, Honda CBR125R, Armour Bodies Amateur Sport Bike, Parts Canada Superbike and K&N Filter’s Sport Twins will run the second leg of their weekend doubleheaders.

© RIF | Mosport Media